I started reading Unbearable Lightness again, which was kindly lent to me by Charlotte (again). As much as I recognise that this hinders me from reaching my goal of 50 books in 2013 (since I couldn’t possibly be as lame as to double count this), I feel like I ought to read it again. Maybe it is something about how its issues keep popping up and how in undersanding Kundera better I just might understand other things in my life better. Or perhaps its just a really good book and I want to relive it. Likely both. Oh well, here’s a quote near the beginning that didn’t register the first time but feels quite striking this time round:

“Metaphors are not to be trifled with. A single metaphor can give birth to love.”

Aside

Leave a Reply

