Safe

I don’t understand. I don’t see why you would feel unsafe. What is there to threaten? Who is there to distract? If only you could feel what I feel, and see my thoughts. You’d realise the worldly focus of their devotion, and your fears would be dispelled. It’s so unfair that impressions of old stubbornly cling to their host long after he has shed any basis for them. What must I do to vindicate myself, to prove myself single-minded? And yet I know it is my fault that these misconceptions began in the first place. Oh if I had known how they’d haunt me now!

Standard

Leave a Reply

